time is running

I try to catch it

shifting feet shouting at the concrete for

its grounding presence hoping it will hear but

it doesn’t have ears

so I draw them on

Jump to forget gravity and drum its

ears to make a sound and

the dust on the dewdrops

of the leaf will sparkle in the microcosmic

moment when a gust of wind slaps it on 

its palm, shock-faced smog-paced alarm turning

quickly and too slow into an ambiguous distant thing

I shudder at the million realities that

hit each second and I tell time,

I tell time…

 

Leave a Reply

