ask me why I’m cold

not
how you turned down the temperature
ask me why I wear a thicker skin
say less and show less
not
how you cut me off when I was
wearing thin like fresh flesh
brave to all your actions
and once
full of love and steps forward no
retractions until I
fell over a cliff and
broke
ask me why I’m cold
forget why I forgot to be bold
ask me why I’m cold
I’ll say its nature
a season a winter a way of life
because it has become a habit
a nature a nurture
a burrow to the rabbit.
Let me not step forward
let me put my heart away
let me not voice what I wanted to say
let you be you
and me be me
It is time to move away

Leave a Reply

