You can take a fish out of the sea

 

but you can’t take the sea out of the fish

Like the ocean flow beneath its gills I am my own

like oxygen is to the air and

I can only carry on

in the way that’s right from me.

in the notes from my own song

I always thought it was an obligation to myself

to live from the centre of my heart and

with all of my soul

So maybe I won’t return home

because home is where the heart is and my heart is

everywhere

and for a while it’s felt like I’ve been on my own

maybe home was never mine for many years

I might need to step on that untrodden path

explore the universe like a national geographic journalist

tell the refugee’s stories from the inside out

see real things with fresh eyes and no screen to compromise

my attention

I might need to live closer, and be further

I might need to do this and more, to find me.

I’m sorry for not being able to fit into the frame

you had called my destiny before I was born

I’m sorry that I’ve been away so long that sometimes- I don’t recognize my family

I’m sorry that you never call, and when you do- I don’t feel you love me at all, unfortunately

I’m sorry if my place as a sister has become an obligation from both sides.

This feels like the right time to step up and find my own path.

maybe our journey began together and what pulled us apart was pride

maybe our journey began apart and what kept us together was family

we will always be a part of one another in our hearts

but for now, it’s my own place I need to find.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

